Governor Ayade Sends 36 Commisioner Nominee Names for Approval


Cross River Governor, Ben Ayade has forwarded a list of 36 commissioner nominees to the Cross River House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The list was made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Wednesday in Calabar by Mr Hope Obeten, Chief Press Secretary to Speaker of the Assembly, Mr Eteng Jonah-Williams.

The list comprises commissioner- nominees from the 18 local government areas of the state.

The Governor had earlier appointed three commisioners, Barr. Tanko Ashong, Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General, Mr Auqou Ekpenyong, Commissioner for Finance and Peter Egba, Commissioner for Commerce raising the total number of commissioners in the State to 39 once the list have been approved.

NAN reports that over 80 per cent of the commissioner-nominees had earlier served in the first term of Ayade.

Some of them are: Dr Inyang Asibong who was Commissioner for Health, Mr Asu Okang was Commissioner for Sport of Ministry; Mr Dane Osim-Asu was in charge of Works, among others.

Some of the new nominees are: Dr Jake Otu-Enyia, Mr Mfon Bassey, Dr Betta Edu, Mr Omang Idiege and others.