Niger Assembly Screens, Confirms 20 Commissioner—Nominees


The Niger House of Assembly has confirmed all 20 commissioners nominated by the Sate Governor, Abubakar Bello barely a week after their screening.

The nominees were reported to have been unanimously confirmed through a voice vote in the plenary on Tuesday following a motion by the Majority Leader, Musa Nasko.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that during the screening which lasted for four days, some of the nominees were asked to take a bow and go, while others answered a few questions posed to them before being told to take a bow.

The nominees include Nasara Dan Mallam, Zakari Abubakar, Haliru Jikantoro, AbdulMalik Sarkin Daji, Mukhtar Nasaleh, Ramatu Yar’Adua, Ibrahim Panti, Hannatu Saleh and Rifkatu Chidawa.

Others are Mustapha Jibrin, Yusuf Suleiman, Emmanuel Umar, Mohammed Idris, Tanko Zakari, Sunday Kolo, Haruna Dukku, Mamman Musa, Maku Sidi, Tasala Marafa and Abubakar Aliyu.

Also about 9 out of the 20 nominees are returnees who served in the first tenure of the present administration of Governor Bello.