Niger LG Polls: APC Clinches 22 Chairmanship Seats, PDP 1, 2 Awaited


The Niger State Independent Electoral Commission(NSIEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner in 22 out of the 23 chairmanship seats announced so far, while the opposition Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) got 1 seat. 

Results of the remaining two local government Areas were still being awaited at the time of filing this report.

The chairman of the state electoral body, Alhaji Aminu Baba, who disclosed this at a press briefing in Minna, said the PDP won the chairmanship in Gbako Local Government Area.

Baba said Mashegu and Tafa Local Government areas were yet to submit their results to the commission. 

He noted that the election was inconclusive in seven wards in four local government areas, adding that a date for rerun in the affected areas will be communicated soon. 

He added that the results for the councillorship elections were still being collated and would be announced in due course. 

He further stated that nine political parties contested the elections, comprising 85 candidates for chairmanship and 616 councillorship contestants across the 25 local government areas of the state. 

The state electoral boss commended security agencies for ensuring a hitch free conduct of the polls. 

“We as a commission are proud to say the elections were generally impressive especially with novel innovations introduced by the commission to ensure free and fair elections. 

“We must express our appreciation to all the security agencies for their support towards a peaceful and successful conduct of the election.”