Buhari appoints ex-IBB spokesman, Duro Onabule, as NTA Board Chairman


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Chief Duro Onabule, a veteran journalist and Chief Press Secretary to former Head of State, Ibrahim Babangida, to head the board of the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA).

According to a statement by Presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, other executive directors appointed for NTA include: Dr Steve Egbo, Administration and Training; Abdul Hamid Salihu Dembos, Marketing; Mohammed Labbo, News; Fatima M. Barda, Finance; Stephen Okoanachi, Engineering; and Wole Coker, Programmes.

The President approved appointments into the executive management of other government agencies and parastatals.

At the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN), Aliyu Hayatu is new chairman, while Buhari Auwalu and Yinka Amosun, are Zonal Directors, Kaduna and Lagos, respectively.

Under the Ministry of Information and Culture, the following agencies have new appointees: Nigerian Film Corporation, Dr Chika Maduekwe, General Manager; National Theatre and National Troupe of Nigeria, Comrade Tar Ukoh, Artistic Director; National Council for Arts and Culture, Otunba Olusegun Runsewe, Director-General; National Film and Video Censors Board, Folorunsho Coker, Director-General.

The President also appointed Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo as chairman of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and Engr. Mustapha Yunusa Maihaja as Director-General

“Other members of the NEMA Board are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Engr. David Babachir Lawal; Captain Talba Alkali, representing Ministry of Transport and Aviation; Amb. Rabiu Dagari, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Dr Ngozi Azadoh, Ministry of Health; Alhaji Muhammadu Maccido, Ministry of Interior; Engr. Ajisegiri Benson Akinloye; Ministry of Water Resources, AVM Emmanuel Anebi; Nigerian Armed Forces; and AIG Salisu Fagge Abdullahi, Nigerian Police Force,” the statement read in part.