Ondo Assembly Stops Screening of One Caretaker Chairman,Clears 17 Others


Ondo state House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of caretaker chairmen for seventeen local government areas of the State for period of six months.

The house however step down the confirmation of Mrs Margret Akinsuroju, the nominee for Odigbo local government area for “further clarification.”

The Politico gathered from a reliable source in the House that the assembly received petitions from her people over alleged anti-party activities in the 2019 elections.

” What actually happened was that there were petitions against her from the people of Odigbo local government that she engaged in anti-party activities during last elections. She was also said not to be someone with the people at home.

” But it seems some persons have intervened and she might be confirmed on Monday, hopefully,” the source said.

The majority leader, Jamiu Maito who submitted the report of the screening committee  moved the motion for the confirmation of the seventeen interim caretaker chairmen.

The Speaker, Bamidele Oleyeloogun said that the confirmation of the seventeen caretaker chairmen became imperative to avoid any vacuum in the local govt administration in the state.

Speaking after the screening, the caretaker chairman nominee for Okitipupa local government area, Omo’ba Abayomi Adesanya in a chat with The Politico described the screening process as painstaking.

He assured people of oriented projects for the development of the council area.

Adesanya, who is a former Spokesman of the All Progressives Congress in the state noted that ” the local government is closer to the people and that is going to be herculean task for us but we are hoping for a robust relationship with the people.”

While saying the roles of traditional rulers in efforts to end insecurity in the society cannot be over emphasised, he promised that they would be more engaged.

Those caretaker chairmen confirmed include; Musa Kasali( Akoko North East); Yomi Babatunde( Akoko South East); Ayodele Akande( Akoko North West); Adebayo Oke (Owo); Anthony Module(Ose) ; Gbenga Olaniyi (Akure South) ; Bankole Ogbesetore(Akure North); Alex Oladimeji ( Ifedore) ; Akinola Akinsuyi (Idanre) and Akinkuotu Olawale( Ondo East).

Others are ; Adewale Adelakun (Ondo West); Adeoyin Rebecca Taiwo(Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo); Ojo Omolewa (Ese-Odo); Otito Atikase (Ilaje); Abayomi Adesanya (Okitipupa) and Akinbiola Oluwatobi(Irele)

The nominees are expected to be inaugurated on Monday by Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu.