Opposition Alliance Leader Defeats Incumbent President in Malawi Re-run Presidential Election


Opposition Alliance leader, Lazarus Chakwera, has defeated incumbent President of Malawi, Peter Mutharika, in the country’s Tuesday re-run presidential election.

Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) late Saturday said Chakwera, leader of the Tonse Allaince polled 2,604,043 votes to defeat President Mutharika of the DPP/UDF alliance with 1,751,877 votes.

The third candidate Mbakuwaku Movement for Development candidate Peter Kuwani scored 33,456 votes.

The commission declared that Lazarus Chakwera, having attained 58.57% of the vote, has been duly elected as the president of Malawi.

President Mutharika, who had sought a second five-year term, called the new election flawed but urged the country to “move on peacefully”.

Chakwera’s victory was a result of months of street protests and a unanimous constitutional court decision that the May 2019 election had widespread irregularities and could not stand.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here