Seven Benue Lawmakers Suspended


Majority Members of the Benue State House of Assembly members have on Monday suspended the seven members that had a kangaroo sitting where they purportedly served an impeachment notice on Governor Samuel Ortom.

The suspended lawmakers include: Adanyi Benjamin; Terhemba Chabo; Benjamin Nungwa; Bem Mngutyo; Adams Okloho; James Okefe; Nick Eworo

The suspension motion was moved by the majority leader of the House Rt. Hon. Hon Avine Agbom and seconded by Hon. Ianna Jato.

The former Speaker of the Assembly was impeached last week with the majority of 22 members who appending their signatures to that effect.

A Makurdi High Court presided by Hon. Justice Adam Onum, the Benue State Chief Judge, issued an injunction restraining the impeached speaker Hon. Terkimbi Ikyange from parading himself as the Speaker and to return all government property in his possession to the Assembly.

The plenary lawmakers subsequently  adjourned sitting to 21st of August 2018.